Add our Research Symposium to AMCP Nexus for only $200 Early bird rates end Aug. 16 Register Today Close

Steven G. Avey Award Information


The Steven G. Avey Award (previously titled The Foundation Award for Achievement) was established in 2001 to recognize a healthcare professional for sustained, exemplary and distinguished service to the practice of managed care pharmacy.


Award recipients are acknowledged by their peers as visionary role models who have made significant and continuing contributions to the advancement of managed care pharmacy in clinical practice, research, education, public policy and/or administration. Individuals will have excelled in any or all of the following criteria: leadership, research, professionalism, advocacy, innovation and collaboration. Nominees are expected to demonstrate the qualities of the awards's namesake, Steven G. Avey, by exemplifying volunteerism, integrity and vision.

The candidate cannot be a current AMCP Board Director, AMCP Foundation Trustee, or employees of AMCP or AMCP Foundation. Candidates are not required to be AMCP members.

The Award may be given posthumously.


Anyone may nominate a candidate; self-nominations are also accepted. Four additional individuals must support each nomination. Nominees may also be asked for qualifying information.

Nominations will be carried over for a period of three total years (annual updates to existing nominations are permitted). Nominations on file can be put forward for future consideration beyond this three-year point window only if the entire nomination packet is re-submitted.

Nominations must be accompanied by the Steven G. Avey Award Nomination Form, the nominee's CV/resume and 500-word Nominee Background Information statement. Nominations may be submitted on at


The final selection is made by the AMCP Past Presidents & Founders Advisory Council after initial screening and scoring conducted by the Steven G. Avey Award Committee. This Committee is appointed by the AMCP Foundation Board.


The award is presented annually during the AMCP Annual Meeting, at an event in which the Steve G. Avey Lecture is presented by the recipient.  The honoree receives an engraved commemorative crystal award; his or her name is also engraved on a plaque permanently displayed at the AMCP and AMCP Foundation national headquarters. The AMCP Foundation provides the recipient reimbursement for reasonable travel expenses associated with the Annual Meeting. In lieu of travel reimbursement, the recipient may choose for the AMCP Foundation or any other non-profit organization, charity or school of pharmacy to receive the compensation.


2019 - Steven G. Avey, MS, RPh, FAMCP

2018 - Kim A. Caldwell, RPh

2017 - John P. Hopkins, RPh

2016 - Anthony P. Morreale, PharmD, MBA, BCPS, FASHP

2015 - Albert L. Carver, BS Pharmacy

2014 - Sean D. Sullivan, MS, PhD, RPh

2013 - Lowell T. Sterler, FAMCP, RPh

2012 - John Jones, FAMCP, RPh

2011 - C. Eugene Reeder, PhD               

2010 - Norrie Thomas, MS, PhD, RPh

2009 - Robert Novarro, PharmD

2008 - David Eddy, MD, PhD

2007 - Darlene M. Mednick, PhD, RPh 

2006 - Pete Penna, PharmD

2005 - Charles D. Pulido, RPh

2004 - John E. Ogden

2003 - Frederick Klein 

2002 - Peter Solyom

2001 - Phil Nudelman